Listening

I’m woken abruptly, blinking in the lightless room, uncurling myself from the corner sofa where I crashed out. Terrible noises. Coming from the floor below. Possibly a few floors below. The high shrieks shoot their way into my head, bringing me physical pain, and I cover my ears – a futile gesture against the permeating anguish. It strikes into me fear without reason. I want it to stop. I want it to stop.

When the screaming stops, the black dead silence seems like the worst thing in the world.

 

(How’s that for a bit of depressing flash fiction before bed 😉 Goodnight all! ~Ri)

This entry was posted in flash fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

leave a comment?

