A nasty place

First there is darkness.

It lasts for a long time. Whether it be minutes or years, it does not matter; time holds no meaning for me.

Then there is light. Just a little light. Enough to show grey behind my eyelids. I am aware of my own labored breathing and some hollow breeze sweeping my body.

I cough and raise myself on my elbows, finally opening my eyes to see around me. There is glass and blood soaking my clothes and staining the road brown. To my right there is a body. Involuntarily I jerk back.

Is the man dead? The bloodied knife sticking out of his back would indicate so. Who killed him?

Maybe I killed him. I don’t know. I don’t remember…

Cursing my weakness I flop back to the ground, staring upwards. Grey pinnacles rise endlessly around me. It is night, but there are lights creating misshapen circles of orange-white haze in the mist.

It is a terrible mist, thick and cold, covering the ground with slime and sucking the air from my lungs.

I’m not sure I’ll live long enough to find out exactly where it is I am. But I know I don’t mind. I can already feel that this is a terrible place.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A nasty place

  1. I dig this piece — I like how you stripped all of the context from the scene, and still came up with something really compelling. I look forward to reading more of your writing.

    and thanks for the follow!

    • Tarina says:

      That’s one of the things I like best about flash fiction… the ability to leave context up in the air and just create a person and a place without having to explain anything. Thanks for the comment! 😀

  2. Pingback: 12 wordpress blogs I am thoroughly enjoying | ianstarttoday

leave a comment?

