Playing Games

“He still hasn’t spoken to me.”

“That sucks,” she replied, moving her knight backwards, away from my defense.

“I wasn’t expecting him to acknowledge me.. though I want it more than anything right now,” I mused.

“Wait, more than anything?”
An invasive bishop aimed at the weak spot I left open.

“I don’t know.”
Desperately trying to regain my feet after that mistake.
“Maybe I didn’t mean that.”

She tells me to think about it, as she can’t stay longer. The game is not finished, but that is not the point. We just enjoy playing. There’ll be another game later.

After she has gone I sit brooding over the white glow of the screen. I turn on music to try to dull what I feel, but it only solidifies into a mass inside me, the sound transforming into an emotion of its own.

I had finally got up the nerve to start a new game. My pawn is shifted forward, a small gesture, non-threatening… perhaps deceptively friendly. It was late, and despite my fear, in breathless excitement I had made the first move.

It’s been nine days.

But I suppose patience is really what the game is about.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Games

  1. Brieuse Bernhard Piers-Gûdmönd says:

    Terrific! Really original and exciting!

leave a comment?

