The Next Big Thing

I have been meaning to do this blog post for a few days ages and ages now. I have been putting it off because first off I was unsure of what to say (“I don’t know what to write!!!! D:”) and the other reason, is that…. I was nervous. Believe it or not. Anyways, for the post.

Marcel Currin is a local writer/poet awesome person, who has, unbelievably, tagged me in an online game called The Next Big Thing. In his words, it’s a kind of pay-it-forward online game in which writers nominate other writers as β€˜the next big thing’. I have read one of his books, the Ministry of Ideas (a collection of short stories), and it is absolutely awesome. Hilarious and fascinating and strangely thoughtful.

His Next Big Thing blog post is here.

Now I gotta say I don’t feel much like the next big thing. Just a thing… that would like to be big. Maybe someday I will be. How can I know?

Now, the game involves answering these ten questions. Apparently, the questions are about publishing a book you’ve written: now that I’ve finished my book, I can answer them more truthfully.

I don’t know if I’ll finish editing it or if it will be publishable at all. But, assuming that it’s finished and ready and perfectly good, I’ll answer the questions. πŸ˜€

1. What’s the working title for your book?

Seekers of Gold. I finally decided on a title!

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?

That’s a good question. I don’t really know. The first beginnings of the story, I think, came to me a few years ago, when I thought of a name, Rehya, and a long journey through some sort of forest… only I didn’t know what they were travelling for, and why the girl Rehya was important to the story.

Oh, and also, she was a giant rat, just for your information. In my story now, she is a girl.

3. What category does your book fall under?

Novel. Fiction. Youth fiction. A long made up story that teenagers might read.

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I am pretty clueless about the whole movie world and which actors are who. So I really have no idea.

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

One sentence??? (I had such trouble even doing it in 300 words!) Ok lets try.

“Girl journeys to find the truth.” Sounds so cliche.

Also, the book kind of cuts off at 50k words, like it’s missing half, or in desperate need of a sequel. So she doesn’t really find the truth, yet.

“Rehya’s brother has been murdered, her father is sick, and desperate for money, she agrees to guide a group of gold seekers to the Forbidden Beach, not knowing exactly what she’s got herself in for.” Okay that’s a run-on sentence. Sorry.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I don’t know, it really depends. There is an option of self publishing through Create Space which is partnering with Nanowrimo, but that depends on how fast I can edit my book.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

30 days. πŸ˜€

8. What other books would you compare this to within your genre?

Compare? How dare I compare my work with others in the genre!? (Mind goes blank)

9. What inspired you to write this book?

I was inspired to write a book at all because I love reading – I’ve read thousands of books, loved most of them, and been entertained countless hours absorbed in them. I want to write something that in turn, will entertain or inspire others.

This particular book is just the idea I’m finding most interesting at the moment.

10. What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

It’s written in one month. It’s interesting. Its writer is only fourteen.

(Well, it might not be interesting, and I’m fifteen now, so yah. Not feeling particularly confident.)

My nominations for the next Next Big Things:

What If It All Means Something

Cristian Mihai

……. I feel like there should be more, and that I may have missed someone. I’m also feeling a painful lack of people I know in real life. Anyway, I’m going to scurry off now, scared of my post and of what people will think of it (as always).

Bye!! 😯

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Big Thing

  1. diannegray says:

    Well done, Tarina! I love the sound of your book πŸ˜‰

leave a comment?

