Nanowrimo: it’s really over

So, I won. I have 50,000 words of novel. I really did it… really really. Never thought I could, but now, look at this! It’s hard to believe the month is basically over – this is the last day, I just finished, tomorrow it will be December, and time to edit.

Aaaaaaaa!! 😦 Editing!!

But for now I shall just feel happy that it’s done and over with… and fear that now my family will want to read it xD

It is such a satisfying feeling writing “THE END” in big capital letters. I liked the feeling so much that I did it four times. And another three times, without the capitals. THE END. The end, the end. Really it’s the end! It’s the end of the novel! It’s the end of NaNo! This is it! It’s THE END! And also, the BEGINNING, the beginning of something new, the editing, the polishing and refining process to get it just right for publishing. Finishing the novel, really finishing it properly.

Also, my novel may not be “finished” in the sense of it’s storyline – it either needs to be longer, or it needs a sequel. Or I could just forget about that, and simply scroll through my document and tell myself that all of these handfuls of words whizzing by are enough. Pages and pages brimming with words. “It’s only words, and words are all I have…” 😀

Hasta pronto, yours elatedly,

~ Tarina

ps I have not decided on a title for my novel yet. “Rehya’s Journey” and “Seekers of Gold”/”Seeking Gold” are the ideas I have so far… what do you reckon??

This entry was posted in nanowrimo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nanowrimo: it’s really over

  1. Hi! I know right! I couldn’t help adding THE END in big bold letters too! Well I’ve actually got a question. How can you upload stuff like the NaNo winner thing? Thanks!

    • Tarina says:

      😀 THE END!!! THE END!!! 😀
      You mean the pictures saying “winner ywp 2012”? To upload it to your blog, go into ‘Media’ on the left of the dashboard, and click ‘add new.’ (Or you can click add media from a ‘new post’ page.) Drag the image into the tab and drop it – the page will turn blue to upload.
      That’s how to get one into a post where you want it, do you know how to get it into your sidebar?
      Hope that helped 😀

  2. Congratulations! What an accomplishment. I like “Seeking Gold” for a title. And hey, thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Tarina says:

      Thank you!
      I may go with “Seeking Gold”. I’m terrible at deciding on titles.
      I like to read your blog, it has an interesting take on things. Thanks for commenting! 😀

      • I’m sure what ever title you come up with, it will be stellar and suit your work! It’s really hard for any of us to say which title we like without reading the book itself, we can only give suggestions that might not suit the work in the end! It will be up to you!

        Thanks for your kind comments on my blog. It’s been interesting and fun to do.

  3. diannegray says:

    Well done! Congratulations 🙂

    How about “Rehya’s Gold”? (yes – I like to be difficult!) 😀

    • Tarina says:

      Thanks! 😀 And thank you for the suggestion – but I think Seeking Gold is probably the title I’ll go with… I don’t know, it just came into my head as I wrote the last chapter. Because in the whole thing, they don’t actually /get/ to the gold beach. Haha, it was way longer than I thought! 😀

leave a comment?

