All’s well that ends badly

[This is a blog post from yesterday – our internet died in the middle of writing it. So it is one day out of date. Just a note.]

testing alternate text

Hello peoples. These are some variegated maple pictures. Pretty tree.

On another topic. Nanowrimo. I’m attempting a 50,000 word novel, which seems to be coming along nicely. I’m already at 34,788 words so far. I wrote 10k in the last two days and my wrists are pretty sore, so I’m giving myself a bit of a break today. Only 1.5k today.

I have a dilemma though. I want to know how to end my story. I like to read stories that have happy endings, though I know short stories are very effective left sort of ‘open’, and a few stories actually end…. well, badly.

As a general rule I try to stick to happy endings. But I’m wondering now, how to end my novel.

I didn’t plan an ending, you see. I have screeds of notes on the plot and characters, maps and pictures and language. (yes, I’m making up a language for it.)
But I didn’t plan an ending. My plot plans puts my main character in a precarious hostage situation at the end, about to be killed for information she shouldn’t know.

Trouble is, I’m not sure how to get her out.

Which set me thinking. Perhaps she will die. Perhaps the truth will never come out and she is simply another disappearance, another murder nobody will solve.

Or maybe she does escape. Or is rescued. But perhaps, reaching home finally, she only finds that the city burns.

What do you think? Do you prefer happy endings, or does it not matter as long as the story is written well enough?

This entry was posted in nanowrimo, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All’s well that ends badly

  1. diannegray says:

    Endings are really important – it doesn’t matter is it’s happy or sad, as long as you have ‘closure’. Best of luck with it, and I’m sure the ending will come to you (probably at 3 in the morning!) 😀

  2. As long as we seek there will always be new adventures, new hope and new experiences. All the best!

leave a comment?

