Aaarghh! My plot is mutating!

I just signed up for NaNoWriMo the other day (check out their site if you haven’t already, it’s great!) and found you’re allowed to start planning your plot ahead of time… so I have started, getting all excited over this Great Idea I had. But was it wise to start so early?

This morning one of my characters, a Good character, suddenly went bad and killed someone. *scratches my head* how come he did that? He was a perfectly good person before, and suddenly it has to get so complicated. I now have to figure out why he killed that person, what happens to him as a result of that, how the other characters react when they find out —- and most importantly, is he Good or Bad? Everything else can be explained away – well, it actually makes the story much more interesting – but now I kind of have this fuzzy picture of someone who did something Bad and I don’t really know Who He Is anymore.

I posed the Good or Bad? question to my Mum and she said ‘Is there really such a thing as a Good or Bad Person?’

I suppose not. ‘Mostly Good or Mostly Bad, then?’

‘Is there such a thing as…’Ā Ā  ‘Yes, there IS!’ I think. That’s right, isn’t it? At least in stories?

So who is my character, really?

It’s like I knew who he was before and now his character is changed so fundamental parts of the plot should really change too. It feels kind of unsettling, but at the same time I don’t want to take the ‘killing someone’ bit back because — I suppose it makes for a really interesting story. It’s certainly interesting just trying to create a plot. But what’s really kind of annoying is the not knowing who my character is, so I don’t know how he should react to certain situations that come up in the story. Good or Bad? Average human, slightly nasty or pure Evil? I think I can rule out Evil because I’ve tried writing Evil characters before… while easy to picture, if they are prominent in the story I actually find they’re too boring and predictable. Predictably Evil, but still predictable!

Aaargh!

My plot is mutating and the characters are morphing and changing into creatures I never imagined they could be….

But it’s these very elements that create an environment that fosters— what am I doing? using scientific speak! *whack self on head* this is supposed to be a blog… lets just say it’s starting to get exciting/confusing/annoying in that curious blend that equals Great Fun. And November isn’t even close!

šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜ šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Aaarghh! My plot is mutating!

  1. thatriot says:

    Hey! Cool blog; love the name. XD Just saw your bud request on NaNo. It is pretty awesome, isn’t it? I used to have a different account a couple years ago, but still have yet to participate in the actual event. I know, I’m hopeless. Haha šŸ™‚ I’m also still very much an amatuer novelist, so I have absolutely no advice on your dilemma. I’ve yet to complete but one short story that was about Mona Lisa. Yup, so with that, greetings and salutations!

    Ah, I’ve just remembered! I heard you like poetry and whatnot. I happen to have a blog (thatriot.blogspot.com) where you can submit artwork such as drawings/sketchings, poems, songs, short stories or novel excerpts, etc. I have a couple followers but have yet to recieve anything, so if you want to email me with something of yours, feel free! šŸ™‚ (You just click the little penguin icon on the top of the right sidebar on my blog; it brings you to the email page.) They’re also from NaNo, so if you’re even interested in guest posts on my blog, you might recieve advice from them. Just email me if you have any questions or just want to talk. I love writing people!

    Woah, sorry this was so long… *_* I’m awkward.

    • Tarina says:

      Hey Thatriot, thanks for commenting!! šŸ™‚ I do like poetry, and drawing so I’ll see if I can send something to you, that would be cool! Don’t worry about the long post: they’re good – I’m just starting to figure out how to make long posts myself. Keeps it interesting! So yeah, I’ve never written anything very long either, the longest is a very rough, unedited ‘novella’ (or something like that) of 12k words which took years to write. Otherwise just lots of short stories. They’re good for having ideas. So 50k words in November: I’m aiming pretty high! But it will be fun! šŸ™‚
      Be seeing you around on the forums… šŸ™‚
      Tarina

      • thatriot says:

        That would be epical! Looking forward to it.

        That’s awesome! The Mona Lisa story is just under 600 words, I believe. Haha šŸ™‚ I know, I need to work on that. I’m starting to really get back into my writing.

        Ah, I know, the 50k challenge! You can change your word goal if you want, though. I think you have to wait until November, I’m not entirely sure, but I know that you can change it.

  2. Tarina says:

    Yeah, you can change it between Nov 1 and 24, I think. I’d love to read your story by the way, if you feel like sharing it! šŸ™‚

  3. diannegray says:

    You’re character sound like they’ve got a lot of ‘human’ qualities! I say go with the flow and let them show their true colours. Best of luck:)

    • Tarina says:

      Thanks! The worst part is I haven’t even started writing him yet. šŸ˜¦ He’s gone bad in my preliminary plans!! (Cool blog by the way.)

      • diannegray says:

        Thanks Tarina! Your character sounds like a guy I used to know ā€“ lol

        Iā€™m really looking forward to seeing how he eventually turns out (maybe you could serialise his progress) he has me intrigued!

leave a comment?

